KTM Enduro Factory Team wraps up a great 2012 season in France

KTM Enduro Factory Team wraps up a great 2012 season in France

The KTM Enduro Factory Team wrapped up the 2012 season in the same style as they had begun – with a raft of victories on the final weekend of racing at Brignoles in France.The team arrived with the E1 and E3 world titles already in the bag thanks to superb riding by Antoine Meo and Christophe Nambotin who rose to the occasion to deliver two more exciting rounds and victories on Saturday and Sunday in front of their loyal supporters. The only senior title left to decide was in the E2 category but with the leading KTM rider Cristobal Guerrero of Spain not fully recovered from a dislocated shoulder in the International Six Days Enduro in Germany last month, the team’s chances were narrowed.Both Guerrero and his teammate Johnny Aubert put in an inspired joint effort to prevent the leader Pierre-Alexandre Renet from taking the title. The gap between Guerrero and Renet was narrowed to 15 points after Saturday’s round but even though Aubert took the win on Sunday, Renet finished third to Guerrero’s fourth to secure the victory.To the excitement of the many French fans, Nambotin and Meo engaged in a personal competition on Sunday and team boss Fabio Farioli said they had been so evenly matched that before the final test there had been less than a second between them. Aubert also had a great last round and was extremely fast on Sunday, Farioli said.“This has been a great year for us,” Farioli said. He said his riders and support staff had made a great effort to vault the factory team back into the spotlight following a season of bad luck and injuries in 2011. Reflecting on the 2012 season, Farioli also praised the efforts of Giacomo Redondi, the young Italian rider who had a brilliant overall victory in the Youth Cup. On Sunday Redondi moved up to the EJ class and also finished second.

Photos by J.Edmunds.

Enduro World Championship Rd. 16 at Brignoles France, Final Round
E1 Results Sunday
1, Antoine Meo, France, KTM
2, Thomas Oldrati, Italy, Husaberg
3, Fabien Planet, France, Sherco
4, Eero Remes, Finland, KTM
5, Jeremy Joly, France, Yamaha
E1 Standings after Rd. 16
1, Meo 277 points (Already declared World Champion)
2, Oldrati, 196
3, Thain, 191
4, Remes 190
5, Matti Seistola 172
E2 Results Sunday
1, Johnny Aubert, France, KTM
2, Juha Salminen, Finland, Husqvarna
3, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg
4, Cristobal Guerrero, Spain, KTM
5, Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas
Other KTM
11, Franco Caimi, Argentina, KTM
13, Jeremy Tarroux, France, KTM
E2 Standings after Rd. 16
1, Renet 260
2, Guerrero, 243
3, Salminen, 236
4, Cervantes, 173
5, Aubert, 162
E3 Results Sunday
1, Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM
2, Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, Husaberg
3, Aigar Leok, Estonia, TM
4, Manuel Monni, Italy, KTM
5, Sebastien Bozzo, France, Beta
Other KTM
7, David Knight, Britain, KTM
E3 Standings after Rd. 16
1, Nambotin, 314 (already declared World Champion)
2, Ljunggren, 238
3, Leok, 232
4, Knight, 178
5, Mena, 167
EJ Results Rd. 16
1, Mathias Bellino, France, Husaberg
2, Giacomo Redondi, Italy, KTM
3, Victor Guerrero, Spain, KTM
4, Nicolo Mori, Italy, TM
5, Alexandre Queyreyre, France, Yamaha
Other KTM
8, Kevin Benavides, Argentina, KTM
9, Rudi Moroni, Italy, KTM
10, Jonathan Manzi, Italy, KTM
11, Marc Sola, Spain, KTM
EJ Standings after Round 16
1, Bellino, 299
2, Manzi, 222
3, Daniel McCanney, Britain, Gas-Gas, 216
4, Benavides, 172
5, Moroni, 151
6, Victor Guerrero, 137
Youth Cup, Results Round 16
1, Luis Oliviera, Portugal, Yamaha
2, Jaime McCanney, Britain, Husaberg
3, Davide Soreca, Italy, Yamaha
4, Nicolas Trainini, Italy, KTM
5, Kirian Mirabet, Spain, KTM
Youth Cup Standings after Round 16
1, Giacomo Redondi, Italy, KTM, 277
2, Matteo Bresolin, Italy, Husaberg, 161
3, McCanney, 115
4, Oliviera, 95
5, Albin Elowson, Sweden, Husaberg, 93

Mika Ahola “Brave One” Trophy
(awarded for skills in the Enduro test)
1, Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM
2, Antoine Meo, France, KTM
3, Juha Salminen, Finland, Husqvarna
4, Johnny Aubert, France, KTM
5, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg
6, Cristobal Guerrero, Spain, KTM


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.