450 and lites main events, Cudby photos and KTM race report from Round 6 of the 2015 AMA Supercross series in San Diego!

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey earned an impressive 3rd place finish at the sixth round of the Monster Energy Supercross Series held for the first time at Petco Park.
Dungey had great qualifying times in the afternoon practice sessions to provide him with confidence going into the heat race. He represented his championship points lead with a red number plate as he lined up for the second heat race.

He nearly pulled the holeshot off the start of his heat, but got pinched off at the tail end of the start straight. A mistake in a rhythm section shortly after dropped him to 4th place. He quickly rebounded but was unable to make any passes in the remaining laps and crossed the line in 4th place. His heat race result gave him an automatic transfer spot to the main event.

When the gate dropped for the main event, Dungey leaped off the line to a 5th place start. He quickly made passes in the opening laps to move his KTM into podium position. By the third lap of the race he had moved into 3rd place. He spent the next half of the race trying to close the gap on the top two riders. Although he didn’t lose any more time to the lead riders, he was unable to close the gap. He finished the race in 3rd place. His podium finish at Petco Park allows him to remain the point’s leader heading to the next round.

“I felt really good tonight,” remarked Dungey. “Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get up there and battle with the leaders but I am very happy for the podium finish tonight. My bike is working great and I’m looking forward to heading east.”

Next Round: Dallas, TX – February 14, 2015

Overall Results –
1. Trey Canard
2. Ken Roczen
3. Ryan Dungey – KTM
4. Chad Reed
5. Eli Tomac
6. Cole Seely
7. Blake Baggett
8. Andrew Short – KTM
9. Broc Tickle
10. Jason Anderson
11. Brett Metcalfe
12. Josh Grant
13. Mike Alessi
14. Phil Nicoletti
15. Jake Weimer
16. Kyle Chisholm
17. Nick Wey
18. Jimmy Albertson
19. Killy Rusk
20. Davi Millsaps
21. Kyle Partridge
22. Ronnie Stewart

Overall Point Standings –
1. Ryan Dungey – 127
2. Ken Roczen – 118
3. Trey Canard – 109

Red Bull KTM Factory Team rider Justin Hill suffered a crash at the start of the main event at round six of the Monster Energy Supercross Series that caused him to not finish the race.
Hill’s day started better than it ended as he took an impressive heat race win. He pulled the holeshot in the first 250 Supercross heat race to lead the field for the first lap. He continued to pull on the rest of the field and had a 3 second lead by the halfway point. He went on to collect the heat win and the top transfer spot in the main event.

At the start of the main event, Hill had a decent jump but crashed with another rider at the end of the start straight. His leg was run over in the crash. Hill, worried that his ankle may be broken, pulled off the track to seek medical attention. The medics determined the ankle was not broken, but most likely, severely sprained. Hill will seek further medical attention on Monday.

The series will now head to Dallas, TX for the first round of the East 250 SX Championship. Hill’s teammate, Marvin Musquin, will suit up for the first time this year in pursuit of that title.

Overall Results –
1. Cooper Webb
2. Shane McElrath – KTM
3. Tyler Bowers
4. Josh Hansen
5. Alex Martin
6. Zach Osborne
7. Zach Bell
8. Jessy Nelson – KTM
9. Tommy Hahn
10. Chris Alldredge
11. Cole Martinez
12. Jackson Richardson
13. Zackery Freeburg
14. Aaron Plessinger
15. Matt Bisceglia
16. Austin Politelli
17. Trevor Reis
18. Brandon Scharer
19. Michael Horban
20. Ryan Breece
21. Malcolm Stewart
22. Justin Hill – KTM

Overall Point Standings –
1. Cooper Webb – 136
2. Jessy Nelson – 106
3. Tyler Bowers – 104
4. Zach Osborne – 102
5. Shane McElrath – 86
6. Aaron Plessinger – 81
7. Justin Hill – 79
8. Josh Hansen – 79
9. Alex Martin – 75
10. Malcolm Stewart – 69




Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.