2012 Endurocross Race Recap: Las Vegas, NV – Round 8

2012 Endurocross Race Recap: Las Vegas, NV – Round 8

Las Vegas, NV (November 17, 2012) — KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak won both main events at the final round of the 2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Series, presented by Lucas Oil. Blazusiak also clinched his fourth consecutive EnduroCross championship. Beta’s Cody Webb did everything he could to take away at least one win by battling Blazusiak during both mains, leading several laps and finished second both times out. Mike Brown took third in the first main event and Kyle Redmond took third in the second main.

The First ever Women’s class championship came down to the final race with KTM’s Maria Forsberg holding a 10 point lead over US Women’s Trials champion, Louise Forsley. Forsley lead the race on the last lap but got hopelessly stuck in the rocks and Forsberg took the lead and win, which also secured the championship. Forsley recovered for second in the race and championship. Rachel Gutish finished took the final podium position in Vegas. Chantelle Bykerk finished fourth in the race, which was enough to take third in the championship.

For the support classes, the Las Vegas final serves at the AMA EnduroCross Grand Championship with a #1 plate awarded to the winner of each class. In the Vet 35+ Class Kurt Nicoll defended his title with the win over Jason Gitchel and Rob Farrington. Keith Curtis won the Open Amateur class with a last lap pass in the rocks. Ben Rego was second and Ty Tremaine was third. The TrialsCross class was won by Phil Smage over Eric Storz and Ty Tremaine.

Gary Sutherlin was among the riders that missed qualifying for the expert main event but got to go to the Baja Designs night race and the $500 bonus that came with it.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.